Click here to edit title

A website for young nurses and the young at heart in Aotearoa

The Young Nurse of the Year Awards 2017 is now open

Nominations are now open!

Simply go to: to nominate a nurse

Nominations close on July 14 2017


To our joint recipients of the 2016 Young Nurse of the Year Awards: Rosita Richards and Jed Montayre. 

You can read more about Rosita here, and about Jed here

Congratulations also to all the nominees for the Young Nurse of the Year Award 2016. We are proud to call you our colleagues.

Emily Rushton (Runner up)
Barishna Zareh
Courtney Eaton
Emma Scott
Glysa Selby
Jenae Valk
Kaidee Hesford
Kathleen Peake
Lara Kruszewski
Lucy Pemberton
Sarah-Mae Glover
Stephanie Taplin

With massive thanks to our Gold Sponsor: 

Centre for Postgraduate Nursing Studies

Otago University


"The University of Otago is proud to support the recognition of young nurses who are emerging leaders and active contributors to the profession and health care provision."

2015 Awards

Gemma Hutton - 2015 Young Nurse of the Year

The winner of the 2015 Young Nurse of the Year Award is:

Gemma Hutton. 

Gemma is a Rural Nurse Specialist in Franz Josef on the West Coast of the South Island. She was nominated by Rosemary Fraser who outlined Gemma's passion and commitment to nursing and her community in her nomination.  The assessment panel acknowledged the work Gemma has done above and beyond her everyday role as a nurse including establishing a young mum's support group, setting up a weight loss programme with local community members (and joining them to run a half marathon), and her work with St John's ambulance.

Gemma was honoured on Tuesday, September 15th at an awards dinner in Wellington. Franz Josef-based Gemma said, “I’m so surprised and humbled to receive this award. I feel quite overwhelmed that my colleagues even thought to nominate me. Being acknowledged for doing something I love feels awesome.”

Congratulations Gemma! 

Two runners up were specifically identified and these were:

Laura Jane Pepere


Whitney McIntyre.

Congratulations Laura and Whitney!

The assessment panel want to acknowledge the stunning work of all the nominees. The calibre of the nominees was outstanding and selecting one overall winner was a difficult task. The full list of nominees is as follows.

Amy Best

Alana Bresanello

Eden Chard

Michelle Drysdale

Jane Dudson

Lindsey Gardiner

Rachel Marie Humphries

Gemma Hutton

Pip Hyde

Ray Kim

Georgina Nawrocki-Wratt

Xin Ng

Laura Jane Pepere

Brigid Sinclair

Haley Smith

Eloise Anne Van de Vyver

Whitney McIntyre


Young Nurse of the Year 2014


Katrina Coleman

Plunket nurse Katrina Coleman was honoured last night (September 17th 2014) at an awards dinner in Wellington.


Katrina works as a Plunket Nurse in Newtown, Central Wellington.  She has worked closely with Electricity companies and Housing New Zealand to ensure the families she works with have affordable housing and electricity, with refugee and migrant  families to ensure they receive the support they need, and drives an hour and a half on her day off to help put together packages of food and clothing for high need families  in Newtown.  Katrina is also studying for her Master of Nursing degree.


Waikanae-based Katrina was stunned, “I’m blown away – it’s such an honour. My friends and family are my number one support; they always think you’re the best of the best anyway, but this is hugely pride-evoking.  The award is nice because it makes missing out on family functions and catching up with friends only occasionally all for something"


The award was presented by Nurses Station young nurse Madeleine O'Connor and is for a nurse under 30 who goes the extra mile and demonstrates exceptional commitment to the profession and to their patients. This prestigious award acknowledges the hard work and commitment of Katrina Coleman, but behind the award is NZNO’s desire to publically support all young nurses and help keep them in the profession and in New Zealand.


An amazing 17 nominations were received from around New Zealand and the assessment panel found it challenging to identify only one nurse! The assessment panel was made up of Marion Guy (President, NZNO), Kerri Nuku (Kaiwhakahaere, NZNO), Jane O'Malley (Chief Nurse, Ministry of Health), Philippa Seaton (Director of the Centre of Post Graduate Nursing Studies at the University of Otago, Christchurch) and members of the Young Nurses Group.


We would like to acknowledge all the nominees for their amazing work and the fact that they have been acknowledged by their colleagues and peers as going the extra mile. The 17 nominees were:


Katrina Coleman

Jed Montayre

Kirsty Slack (x2 nominations)

Michelle Cameron

Sophie Garcia

Rachel Starling

Joed Manuel

Marjolein Schouten

Jordyn Long (x2 nominations)

Kendra Martin

Kimberley Louise McAuley

Gomeeta Gosloamy

Emily Swan

Ellen Mataiti

Elizabeth Saywell


 We would also like to acknowledge the Centre for Postgraduate Nursing Studies at the  University of Otago, Christchurch for making the awards possible.

If you are interested or know of anyone who may be interested in sponsoring the Young Nurse of the Year Awards, please send us an email and we will get in touch with them. All suggestions are welcome.

Thank you for contacting us. We will get back to you as soon as possible
Oops. An error occurred.
Click here to try again.